Loreto College - Coleraine, Co. Derry, Northern Ireland
Loreto Crest

News & Events Archive

Mr P. Cunning presents the Mary McCabe Cup for Year 8 Cross Country - View Full Size Image
Mr P. Cunning presents the Mary McCabe Cup for Year 8 Cross Country
Mr P. Cunning presents the Shield for Year 8 Cross Country - View Full Size Image
Mr P. Cunning presents the Shield for Year 8 Cross Country

The  sixteenth annual Mary McCabe Trophy race, involving all Year 8 students, took place at Loreto College Coleraine, Specialist School, on  27th October 2010.  This event was held first in 1996, following the presentation of the trophy by  Dr. McCabe, in memory of his wife Mary. The McCabe family had three daughters, Geraldine, Jemma and Anne –Marie, who attended Loreto in the 1970s.  All three girls were  keen and successful athletes and the parents often came to races and were very supportive of the girls. The silver cup was for Minor Girls’ cross country and has been competed for each year. There is also a boys’ shield and each year, Year 8 boys and girls compete for these two trophies.

The event saw Year 8s completing a taxing run just short of 2000m through the College campus, and this year’s winners were Aoife Carr and Shane McIntyre.  Mr Paul Cunning, co-ordinator of Cross Country running at Loreto, joined College Principal Mr Brian Lenehan in offering congratulations to all those who took part, and commiserations to those who could not do so, or who dropped out due to injury.  Mr Cunning added a word of special thanks are due to Head of PE Mrs Maureen McCullough and PE teachers Mr Paul Byrne and Ms Julie Wilson, and to the senior students who acted as marshalls. 

Mr Cunning added that a number of previous winners of this event had gone on to sporting success in athletics, hurling, gaelic football and camogie at national and international level, and that many of the medallists could have a bright sporting future ahead.   Many of these promising young athletes went on to represent Loreto at the Cross Country District Championships at the University of Ulster, along with some talented athletes from throughout the school.  The students were congratulated on their success to date and wished well for the challenges ahead by Mr Brian Lenehan, Principal of Loreto College.

Medals were presented as follows:

1st Aoife Carr
2nd Tara McLarnon
3rd Eimear Carey
4th Shauna Doherty
5th Aoife Boorman
6th Orlaigh Toner
7th Erin Mullan
8th Naomi Anderson
9th Lauren O’Kane
10th Eliza Richardson
11th Niamh Morrison
12th Anna McGuigan
13th Alexandra McGinley
14th Jane Telford
15th Francesca Watson
16th Kate Bradley
17th Una McCloskey
18th Eden Guarino
19th Eimear Hegarty
20th Clodagh McGahon

1st Shane McIntyre
2nd Daniel O’Kane
3rd John Joe O’Neill
4th Fergal Dillon
5th Alex Christie
6th Shea McTaggart
7th Sean Quinn
8th Harry Butcher
9th Christopher Doherty
10th Aiden Boyle
11th Sean O’Hara
12th Jamie Howard
13th Eoin Canning
14th Phillip Doherty
15th Cahir Loftus
16th Ryan Kealey
17th Conor Gillrn
18th Liam Ferris
19th John Smyth
20th Joel Dinsmore

The two individual winners, Aoife Carr and Shane McIntyre, had their names added to the trophies to join an illustrious list of Loreto athletes:

1996 Grainne McGoldrick
1997 Judith Kelly
1998 Gemma McCullough
1999 Elizabeth McWilliams
2000 Zakiyya Devaney
2001 Orlagh Daly
2002 Claire Doherty
2003 Louise Bogues
2004 Ciara Cunning
2005 Katy Lemon
2006 Anna Breslin
2007 Maeve Lofthouse
2008 Nicole O’Neill
2009 Theresa McIlwaine
2010 Orla Rafferty
2011 Aoife Carr

1996 Sean O’Connell
1997 Eamonn Morgan
1998 Ryan Mullan
1999 Sean Paul Henry
2000 Sean Leo McGoldrick
2001 Stephen Friel
2002 David McCulloch
2003 Fergal McCloskey
2004 Steven Dooley
2005 Dermot Morrow
2006 Daniel McAleese
2007 John McLister
2008 Edward Lane
2009 Calvin Heavern
2010 Oran Barton
2011 Shane McIntyre

Mr Brian Lenehan, Principal of Loreto College, congratulated all the Year 8 students on their enthusiastic participation in the event, and paid tribute to Mr Paul Cunning and his team of Year 14 marshals who had organised the race.