Loreto College - Coleraine, Co. Derry, Northern Ireland
Loreto Crest

News & Events Archive

Winners in the annual Year 8 Mary McCabe Trophy cross country race - View Full Size Image
Winners in the annual Year 8 Mary McCabe Trophy cross country race

The  twelfth annual Mary McCabe Trophy race, involving all Year 8 students, took place at Loreto College Coleraine on  25th January 2008.  This event was held first in 1996, following the presentation of the trophy by  Dr. McCabe, in memory of his wife Mary. The McCabe family had three daughters, Geraldine, Jemma and Anne –Marie, who attended Loreto in the 1970s.  All three girls were  keen and successful athletes and the parents often came to races and were very supportive of the girls. The silver cup was for Minor Girls’ cross country and has been competed for each year. There is also a boys’ shield and each year, Year 8 boys and girls compete for these two trophies.

The event saw Year 8’s completing a taxing run just short of 2000m through the College campus, and this year’s winners were Nicole O’Neill and Edward Lane.  Mr Paul Cunning, co-ordinator of Cross Country running at Loreto, joined College Principal Mr Brian Lenehan in offering congratulations to all those who took part, and commiserations to those who could not do so, or who dropped out due to injury.  Mr Cunning added a word of special thanks are due to Head of PE Mrs Maureen McCullough and PE teachers Mr Paul Byrne and Ms Julie Wilson, and to the senior students who acted as marshalls. 

Mr Cunning added that a number of previous winners of this event had gone on to sporting success in athletics, hurling, gaelic football and camogie at national and international level, and that many of the 2008 medallists could have a bright sporting future ahead.   Many of these promising young athletes went on to represent Loreto at the Cross Country District Championships at the University of Ulster, along with some talented athletes from throughout the school.  At that event, the Senior Girls’ team qualified for the Ulster Schools’ Finals.  The students were congratulated on their success to date and wished well for the challenges ahead by Mr Brian Lenehan, Principal of Loreto College.

Medals were presented as follows:

1st Nicole O’Neill
2nd Katie Dysart
3rd Cliodhna McIlvenny
4th Jessica Hinkinson
5th Ciara Morren
6th Rosanna McAleese
7th Eilis McNamee
8th Hannah McDonald
9th Amy McLaughlin
10th Bronagh Reid

1st Edward Lane
2nd Mark Gormley
3rd Conor Kneeland
4th Patrick Kerr
5th Ryan Duffy
6th Jack Deery
7th Ciaran Ferris
8th Aidan Brankin
9th Jamie McGuinness
10th Ciaran Tosh.

The two individual winners, Nicole O’Neill and Edward Lane, had their names added to the trophies to join an illustrious list of Loreto athletes:

1996 Grainne McGoldrick
1997 Judith Kelly
1998 Gemma McCullough
1999 Elizabeth McWilliams
2000 Zakiyya Devaney
2001 Orlagh Daly
2002 Claire Doherty
2003 Louise Bogues
2004 Ciara Cunning
2005 Katy Lemon
2006 Anna Breslin
2007 Maeve Lofthouse

1996 Sean O’Connell
1997 Eamonn Morgan
1998 Ryan Mullan
1999 Sean Paul Henry
2000 Sean Leo McGoldrick
2001 Stephen Friel
2002 David McCulloch
2003 Fergal McCloskey
2004 Steven Dooley
2005 Dermot Morrow
2006 Daniel McAleese
2007 John McLister