Loreto College - Coleraine, Co. Derry, Northern Ireland
Loreto Crest

News & Events Archive

The Loreto College team, which has won through to the Ulster Schools Final of the Paddy O’Hara Cup - View Full Size Image
The Loreto College team, which has won through to the Ulster Schools Final of the Paddy O’Hara Cup

Loreto College Coleraine’s Year 11 team has qualified for the Ulster Schools Final of the Paddy O’Hara Cup after a 0-15 to 0-8 over Our Lady and St Patrick’s College Knock.

Knock opened the scoring with a free kick, but Loreto responded with a Conn Kilmartin point and two frees from Michael Og McKeown.

Knock responded again with a free, but Loreto responded with another free from Michael Og McKeown and a point from Pearce McGonigle.  Pearce McGonigle added a free himself with Knock adding another score from play.

There was drama just before half time, when the Knock goalkeeper saved a Loreto penalty and with the final attack, Kosta Papachristopoulos was denied twice with goal attempts.

Half Time score: Loreto 0-6 vs. Knock 0-3.

Loreto started brightly in the second half, with Michael Og McKeown scoring two points either side of an outstanding Kosta Papachristopoulos free from the sideline for a 0-9 to 03 advantage.

It was Knock’s turn to have their purple patch as they had sustained pressure and scored two points – one from a free and the other from a well-worked move, to bring the score to 0-9 to 0-5.

Loreto responded with scores from both Kilmartin brothers – Conn and Felix – to push ahead again.  Kosta Papachristopoulos landed another excellent free with Connor Mullan working a great score from a 45.

Knock responded with sustained pressure, resulting in another 3 points, but with time running out, Loreto tagged on two fine scores from Emmet Morrison and Ronan Close to seal the game.

Final score: Loreto 0-15 vs. Knock 0-8.

Loreto will play the winners of the other semi-final, between Dean Maguire High School Carrickmore and St Louis’ Grammar School Kilkeel next week.  The team members and their coaches, Mr Sean Murtagh and Mr Paddy Bradley, were congratulated on this wonderful achievement by Mr Michael James, Principal of Loreto College.