Loreto College - Coleraine, Co. Derry, Northern Ireland
Loreto Crest

News Items

View Full Size Image
View Full Size Image
View Full Size Image
View Full Size Image

The Loreto Year 11 boys faced Magherafelt High school on Tuesday in a thrilling contest.  Played on the artificial surface at the Meadowbank Sports arena, the conditions were perfect for football.
Magherafelt started the game off on the front foot as the put pressure on the Loreto back line.  This relentless pressure resulted in a goal, despite the best efforts of the Loreto players.  The first half finished as it began, as Magherafelt scored their second of the game just before the end of the half. 

Half time Score: Magherafelt 2-0 Loreto

The start of the second half was a lot more promising for the Loreto boys as they appeared to raise their efforts and self-belief.  Then, after some excellent through passes, Christopher McNally got on the end of one and chipped from the end of the box, making it 2-1.  Loreto pushed on.  They had gained some momentum since scoring and looked very confident in gaining something from the game.  Five minutes from time, Christopher McNally scored the equaliser, with another neat finish from a cutting through ball from Nicolas Moore.  However, Magherafelt were not done.  With the last attack of the game the netted the winner, after a long range pass found a man in the Loreto box. 

Full time Score: Magherafelt 3-2 Loreto

This was a very entertaining game to watch, with some excellent football being displayed.  No doubt the Loreto boys will not be pleased with the final result, but the way in which they fought back is an invaluable positive to take going forward during the rest of the league.  Fantastic character was shown by Loreto, who will continue to strive towards a league final.

Mr.McCloskey and the Loreto team would like to wish a speedy recovery to centre back Fiyin Owolabi, who broke his wrist near the end of the game.

Seán McAlister, Nicolas Moore (C), Conall Friel, Pádraig Kelly, Joshua Stockman, Fiyin Owolabi, Travis Brown, Conor Rainey, Christian Quigley, Alex Mailey, Christopher McNally.