Loreto College - Coleraine, Co. Derry, Northern Ireland
Loreto Crest

News & Events Archive

The Y8 Hurling Team, winners of the Ulster C Hurling Tournament - View Full Size Image
The Y8 Hurling Team, winners of the Ulster C Hurling Tournament
Y8 Hurling team captain, Oran Doherty, receives the Ulster C Hurling Shield - View Full Size Image
Y8 Hurling team captain, Oran Doherty, receives the Ulster C Hurling Shield

Loreto College, Coleraine, won the Ulster Colleges Year 8 C grade hurling tournament at the Mid-Ulster Arena, Cookstown, on Friday 26th May 2017.

The Coleraine school’s Year 8 team made it through a tough group consisting of St. Benedict’s Randalstown, St. Patrick’s Bearnageeha, Belfast, and St Paul’s, Kilrea.  Throughout those three games Loreto did not concede a single goal - winning them all convincingly to finish top of the group.  This was due to an excellent collective defensive effort. 

The semi-final against Colaiste Feirste was Loreto’s first real test in the tournament.  Throughout the first half there was nothing to separate the two teams, with both having a number of chances saved or miss the target.  The game was very much in the balance until Peter Passmore caught the ball directly from a Cathaoir McFerran puck-out and ran through  Colaiste Feirste’s defence to put the ball in the net. 

Facing a good St. Mary’s, Clady, team in the final, Barry McCloskey fired home the opening goal for Loreto while Peter Passmore stroked over two fine points from frees to create a five point lead. However, Clady kicked into gear before the end of the first half and scored the first goal against Loreto in the tournament despite a great effort to prevent it from Dunloy Cuchullains duo Sean McAleese and Ruairi Martin. Soon after, two quick Clady points left the game all square at half time.  Similarly to how they ended the first half, Clady began the second half very strongly by scoring a great goal against a stiff breeze.  Loreto was up against it, but the first years dug deep and clawed their way back into the game, creating chance after chance.  Peter Passmore was deadly accurate from frees all day and he knocked over two points to leave a one point deficit.  Then, in the last few minutes of the game, player of the tournament, Peter Passmore, scored the winning goal to claim the cup for Loreto. 

The Loreto team members were: Cathair McFerran, Ruairi Martin, Sean McAleese, Barry McCloskey, Cara Kearney, Peter Passmore, Peter Wells, Sean McKelvey, Oran Doherty, Edward Mulholland, Niamh McGarry, Colleen Heaney, Donal Heaney, Adam Mullan.

The team and their coaches, Mr Callum Boyle, Mr Eddie McCloskey and Mr Eoin Barry, were congratulated on this superb victory by Mr Michael James, College Principal, on behalf of all the staff and students of Loreto College.